Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Help us keep homeless shelters open!

Best Blogger Tips
Just passing on an urgent and quick note about an action step we need your help with. The Mayor's proposed budget for 2012 has a $20.5 million funding hole that could leave the emergency shelters for men and women who are single and homeless out on the street.

The Washington Legal Clinic has the full break down here if you need more information. But please, please call your council member May 5 between 9 a.m. and noon and ask them to keep the 2012 funding levels at the same level as last year. In the single adult emergency shelters operated by Catholic Charities, more than 9,000 people seek safety and a place to sleep each year.

Without your help, these shelters may run out of funding by April of 2012! Please stand with us!

Contact for Council:

Kwame Brown (Chairman) 724-8032 or kbrown@dccouncil.us
Vincent Orange (soon to be at-large) 529-1962 or vo40@aol.com or action@orangeatlarge.com
David Catania (at-large) 724-7772 or dcatania@dccouncil.us
Phil Mendelson (at-large) 724-8064 or pmendelson@dccouncil.us
Michael Brown (at-large) 724-8105 or mbrown@dccouncil.us
Jim Graham (Ward 1) 724-8181 or jim@grahamwone.com
Jack Evans (Ward 2) 724-8058 or Jackevans@dccouncil.us
Mary Cheh (Ward 3) 724-8062 or mcheh@dccouncil.us
Muriel Bowser (Ward 4) 724-8052 or mbowser@dccouncil.us
Harry Thomas, Jr. (Ward 5) 724-8028 or hthomas@dccouncil.us
Tommy Wells (Ward 6) 724-8072 or twells@dccouncil.us
Yvette Alexander (Ward 7) 724-8068 or yalexander@dccouncil.us
Marion Barry (Ward 8 ) 724-8045 or mbarry@dccouncil.us
Jen Budoff, Council Budget Director 724-8139 or jbudoff@dccouncil.us